My Five Best Blog Posts

Wrap up time! Here are what I believe to be my best five blog posts from the semester.

For my first post, I have chosen The Future Of Media, because the ways people share news and the platforms we have for discussion and networking are an exceptionally important factor of networked culture. My discussion is about newspapers, exploring reasons why they are considered to be a dying media platform, and why they still have value.

On the other hand, This Post is About Religion is exploring the human side of networked culture, and the fact that for all the technological advances in the world, at the end of the day what effective functioning networks rely upon is common decency and respect.

Internet Memes and Viral Media looks at some of the content that can be found online and the sheer overwhelming amount of time that is dedicated to the trivial and benign. I also discuss some reasons why things go viral, and what I believe are the most effective ways to create viral content.

I chose Networked Storytelling as an interesting example of how the Internet can be utilised to tell a well-known story in a different way, using multiple platforms to create an alternative reality in which the narrative exists.

Finally, I’ve decided to include The Tragedy of Alan Turing (or, people are idiots) because I feel this highlights a very particular and important part of our modern networked society, which is that freedom of information is incredibly important and something that still needs to be fought for. In addition, this posts discusses some of the people who have contributed to networked culture the way we know it, and who lost their lives because of general stupidity. This last blog post because it touches upon an area that I’m personally interested in and think is important.


Leave a comment